Recipient and date announcement Fall 2019

Partnership Opportunities for IDEA 2020 are now open. Please contact the office at 204.474.6201 to learn more.

IDEA 2018 Recipients

L to R: Tony Quach, Gady Jacoby, Arni Thorsteinson, Arianna Huffington, John Proven, Shona Grewar, Miranda Ewashko, Arthur Coehlo Reiss

IDEA 2018 Recipient Arianna Huffington Visits the Asper School of Business


“I was honoured to be a part of the celebrations. Many thanks for hosting me and for introducing me to the special place of the Asper Business School. I loved meeting the wonderful community you have built.” Arianna Huffington


Ms. Huffington was a most worthy recipient of IDEA 2018, as her achievements have empowered millions to expand their capabilities and to think broadly about possibilities. With Thrive Global she has been a champion against burnout and addiction to digital devices. Her ultimate goal is to improve wellness worldwide, she delivered a powerful message that all 925 dinner guests left rethinking the way they live their lives.

Thank you to all who attended IDEA 2018. Mark your calendars for IDEA 2019, which will be held on May 23, 2019!


Asper School of Business Medallion

Story of The Medallion

Awarded first in 1984, IDEA recognizes international entrepreneurial excellence. Recipients are presented with a custom IDEA gold medallion from the Royal Canadian Mint at Manitoba’s “Dinner of the Year”. The dinner is hosted by the Associates whose tremendous efforts and influence ensure IDEA achieves increasing success by celebrating extraordinary recipients. IDEA continues to generate international awareness for the University of Manitoba and the I.H. Asper School of Business. 


Past IDEA Recipients

David Thomson

Hartley T. Richardson
President & Chief Executive Officer
James Richardson & Sons, Limited

Arianna Huffington

Arianna Huffington
CEO and Founder, Thrive Global
Founder, The Huffington Post

David Foster

David Foster
Chairman and Founder David Foster Foundation

V. Prem Watsa

V. Prem Watsa
Chairman and Chief Executive
Officer Fairfax Financial Holdings